Graduate Council

The Graduate Council was established by the Board of Governors in 1968 and was granted the authority and responsibility for the development of basic policies for the graduate education system and for the encouragement, improvement and evaluation of graduate programs throughout the university.

Per the Graduate Council bylaws, its membership includes two graduate faculty members elected from each of the schools and colleges with graduate programs, three graduate faculty members appointed by the dean of the graduate school, and a graduate student.