

Meeting agenda January 15, 2025, 2-3:30 p.m.

- I. Report of the Chair
 - a. Review and approval of December 18, 2024 minutes (pages 2-5)
- II. Executive Committee (Preethy Samuel, Chair)
 - a. 1/8/25 meeting recap
- III. Update on credit hour program revisions (Todd Leff)
- IV. Call for faculty judges for Feb. 25, 2025 Graduate Research Symposium (Todd Leff)
- V. Inclusive Excellence Committee (Jeff Pruchnic)
- VI. Working Group on Doctoral Student Leave Policy (Jeremy Kodanko and Jeff Pruchnic)
- VII. Pathway to Faculty
- VIII. Student Senate Report, (Chris Roberts)
- IX. Report of the Academic Senate Liaisons
 - a. Kelly Pfeifer, Curriculum and Instruction Committee
 - b. Sung Gon Chung (for Santanu Mitra), Budget Committee
 - c. Stella Resko, Faculty Affairs Committee
 - d. Bob Reynolds, Research Committee
 - e. Stephen Chrisomalis, Student Affairs Committee
 - f. Chris Kelly, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
 - g. Linda Beale, Academic Senate President
- X. Adjournment



Meeting agenda December 18, 2024, 2-3:30 p.m.

- XI. Report of the Chair
 - a. Review and approval of November 20, 2024 minutes (pages 2-5)
 - b. Doctoral student leave policy working group
- XII. Executive Committee (Preethy Samuel, Chair)
 - a. 12/11/24 meeting recap
- XIII. Academic Standards, Jeff Pruchnic
 - Vote: Three Bulletin changes following reduction of PhD credit hours ((PDF attached to calendar invite))
- XIV. New Programs and Program Review (NPPR), Todd Leff
 - a. Vote: Graduate Certificate in Basic Medical Sciences (SOM) (vote) ((PDF attached to calendar invite))
- XV. Faculty judges for Feb. 25, 2025 Graduate Research Symposium (Todd Leff)
- XVI. Update on credit hour program revisions (Todd Leff)
- XVII. Inclusive Excellence Committee (Jeff Pruchnic)
- XVIII. Pathway to Faculty (Angulique Outlaw)
- XIX. Student Senate Report, (Chris Roberts)
- XX. Report of the Academic Senate Liaisons
 - a. Vacancy, Curriculum and Instruction Committee
 - b. Gilou Agbaglah, Facilities, Support Services & Technology Committee
 - c. Santanu Mitra, Budget Committee
 - d. **Stella Resko**, Faculty Affairs Committee
 - e. Bob Reynolds, Research Committee
 - f. Stephen Chrisomalis, Student Affairs Committee
 - g. Linda Beale, Academic Senate President

XXI. Adjournment

Attendees: Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, Linda Beale, Ed Cackett, Sung Gon Chung (for Santanu Mitra), Christine D'Arpa, Gilou Agbaglah, Stephen Chrisomalis, Andrew Garrett, Susan Gabel, Paul Johnson, Christopher Kelly, Ulrike Klueh, Jeremy Kodanko, Todd Leff, Amanda Miller, Angulique Outlaw, Kristen Purrington, Leanne Nantais-Smith, Lisa Panisch, Deborah Patterson, Jeff Pruchnic, Kristen Purrington, Sherry Quinn, Stella Resko, Bob Reynolds, Chris Roberts, Preethy Samuel, Andrea Tangari, Sally Villasenor, Jen Wareham, Mary Wood, Zhengping Yi, Young Ro-Yoon

Absent with Notice: Maha Albdour, Santanu Mitra, Stephanie Tong

Absent without notice: Allan Clarke, Linda Hazlett, Kelly Pfeifer

Guest: George Brush, School of Medicine

Meeting Minutes December 18, 2024

The Dean called the meeting to order and asked for approval of the November 20. 2024 minutes. Hearing no corrections or additions, the minutes stand as written.

Doctoral student leave policy working group

There was discussion about the need to seat a working group to develop a cohesive policy. Jeremy Kodanko volunteered to chair the committee. Representatives from SOM, CLAS, Engineering, EACPHS, Education, Human Resources and the GEOC will comprise the committee. Jeff Pruchnic will serve as the Graduate School liaison. The Committee will be seated and charged early in 2025.

Executive Committee

Preethy Samuel recapped the EC discussion. An appeals process for doctoral students was discussed as well as the need to develop a uniform leave of absence policy. Differences in GRA salaries across disciplines and inequities in those salaries was discussed as well as the fact that GRAs at peer institutions have better compensation. Graduate student workloads, safe working conditions in academic facilities and summer industry internships were also discussed.

Academic Standards

Jeff Pruchnic said a vote would be taken on the bulletin changes following the BoG approval of the credit hours for the PhD. These three changes were brought to the Council last month for consideration. The changes are the following:

- Lowering from 50 credits to 30 to qualify for candidacy
- Requiring the minimum credits of 7000-level coursework be lowered from 30 to 15
- Striking the residency requirement for PhD students, which has not been enforced since pre-COVID.

There was some discussion about the bulletin discussion, but it was noted the three measures would be voted on individually when the Council votes on the new program proposal following the NPPR report.

NPPR Committee

Todd Leff introduced George Brush from the SOM to describe and answer questions about the proposed graduate certificate (GC) for Basic Medical Sciences. The program provides a one-year alternative to the current master's in BMS that takes two years to complete. Like the master's, the GC is designed to provide students an opportunity to improve their records when they are applying to health professional schools, such as medical or dental school. The rationale is to increase enrollment. The BMS enrollment has declined in the past five years. A two-year program is too long for prospective students due to new and competing programs. All proposed courses are established and taught by current faculty.

A Zoom survey for both the bulletin changes and the new BMS graduate certificate was emailed to voting members. Both measures passed unanimously.

Faculty Judges for 2025 Graduate Research Symposium

Todd Leff said there is a need for graduate faculty to judge platform talks at the February 2025 symposium. He provided a Qualtrics link where faculty could sign up.

Update on PhD Credit Hour Reductions

Todd Leff reported that 39 programs had submitted requests to activate the reduced dissertation credit requirements for the winter term. These were all granted. He said that all programs that are making changes need to file a formal program revision request in CourseLeaf and that the deadline for this is February 1 for revised program descriptions to appear in the 25/26 Bulletin. Revisions submitted after that date can still be implemented for the fall 2025 but its bulletin description won't appear until the 26/27 edition of the Bulletin.

Inclusive Excellence Committee

Jeff Pruchnic reported that the Committee discussed revisions to the evaluation form for applicants to the Dean's Diversity Award. A form will be finalized at the first meeting in 2025. Applications are due Feb. 24th giving the committee time to perfect the rubric.

Student Senate Report

Chris Roberts reported that the Student Senate is collaborating with Dean Strauss and Vice Provost Daryl Gardner to receive faculty training on drafting surveys and collecting data for campus-wide referendums. This initiative aims to ensure clear, unbiased questions are presented to the student population, avoiding leading language. Additionally, the Nursing School is working with the Senate to implement a reflection room in the Cohn Building basement and is also focused on improving working conditions in the SIM lab.

Report of the Academic Senate Liaisons

Santanu Mitra, Chirs Kelly, Gilou Agbaglah, Bob Reynolds and Stella Resko provided brief updates on their respective committees most recent meetings.

Hearing no other business, the Dean called for a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded and the meeting adjourned at 3:27 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary E. Wood Graduate Program Director